Analystanalyst’s Weblog

Who analyzes the analysts? – analystanalyst.com

How do I tell you apart?

OK, so I found you – but how do I tell you apart?

My last post sparked some discussion both on and off this blog, but google searching discussions aside (see comments to previous post) I did find some and it leads on to this next point.

As an analyst firm how do you differentiate yourself?  What makes you different from the others?  How do you express that to prospective clients?

If you are a small niche player, how do you express that?  Why should I pick you over the big boys?

If you are Gartner or IDC, why should I spend my money with one of you over the other?

What qualifies any of you to claim to be ‘experts’ and how can you show me that?

If you are in the industry, mentally step outside and take a look, it’s not very clear at all what these firms all actually do.  Don’t forget, it’s my money you want…

May 2, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment